Friday, May 9, 2014

Students in the University of Maryland’s College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences earned many notable awards this spring.

Three Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships were awarded to juniors Geoffrey Ji (physics, mathematics, economics and computer science), Michael Mandler (chemistry and biological sciences) and Rafael Setra (mathematics and electrical engineering). Junior Daniel Farias (computer science, electrical engineering and mathematics) received honorable mention. The scholarship encourages students to pursue advanced study and careers in the sciences, engineering, and mathematics.
Read more:

Fifteen National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships were awarded to current students and recent alumni of the college. The fellowships provide financial support to students with outstanding potential to make contributions to the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
Read more: 

A Truman Scholarship was awarded to junior Fang Cao (biological sciences and computer science). This scholarship is awarded to underclassmen who demonstrate exceptional leadership potential and a commitment to careers in government, the nonprofit or advocacy sectors, education or elsewhere in public service.
Read more:

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Ernest F. Hollings scholarships were awarded to undergraduates Robert Lukin (chemistry) and Michael Natoli (atmospheric and oceanic science and mathematics). The scholarship is designed to increase undergraduate training in oceanic and atmospheric science research, technology, and education.
Read more:

A Fulbright student grant was awarded to senior Stephanie Lighter (biology and psychology) to teach English in India during the 2014-2015 academic year. She will serve as a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant at the Vinay Nagar Bengali Senior Secondary School in New Delhi.

Undergraduate Andre DeSouza (biology) received a national 2014 Howard Hughes Medical Institute Exceptional Research Opportunities Program award. DeSouza will spend the summer conducting research with Columbia University’s Richard Axel, who received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2004.

A AAAS Mass Media Science & Engineering Fellowship was awarded to graduate student Daniel Serrano (biological sciences). Serrano, a native Colombian, will spend the summer as a Spanish-language science reporter at Nuestra Tele Noticias.

U.S. Department of State Critical Language Scholarship was awarded to undergraduate Claire Weber (geography and biological sciences). This scholarship program provides intensive, fully-supported summer language study experiences. Weber, a member of the Gemstone Program in the Honors College, will study Urdu in India this summer. She has studied Urdu for two semesters at UMD and interned with the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism.

NASA Space Technology Research Fellowship was awarded to graduate student Gabriele Betancourt-Martinez (astronomy). Betancourt-Martinez will use the fellowship to conduct innovative space technology research on X-ray microcalorimeters at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.

The Presidential Management Fellows Class of 2014 Finalists included graduate students Jennifer Austin (sustainable development and conservation biology), Jacob Hosen (behavior, ecology, evolution and systematics) and Ian Rowe (biochemistry), and alumna Anya Rushing (M.S. '12, sustainable development and conservation biology). Of 7,000 applicants, 609 finalists were chosen. The program is a flagship leadership development program for advanced degree candidates, designed to develop a cadre of potential government leaders.

The University Medal will be awarded senior Noah Mandell (physics) during the university’s spring commencement ceremony. The medal honors the graduating senior who best exemplifies academic distinction, outstanding character and extracurricular contributions to the university or public communities. Rhiannon Aguilar (chemistry and music performance) will also be recognized at commencement as one of five medal finalists.
Read more:

--University of Maryland/College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences--

Media Contact: Abby Robinson, 301-405-5845,